Democrats name committee members for new session of Congress

Elizabeth Warren

Elizabeth Warren

The Democratic Steering Committee approved the assignment of Democratic senators to various committees for the next session of Congress in a meeting last week.

“I am excited to work with the members of our expanded majority,” Senate Democratic Majority Leader Harry Reid said. “Our caucus is more diverse than ever, with a record sixteen female Democratic senators serving in the next Congress. These committee assignments will allow all members of our caucus to bring their unique talents and expertise to bear as we work together to advance the interests of the middle class.”

Sens.-elect Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.) will join the committee on agriculture. Sens.-elect Tom Udall (D-N.M.),  Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.) and Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.) will join the appropriations committee.

Sen. Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), as well as Sens.-elect Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Angus King (I-Maine) and Donnelly will join the armed services committee.

Sen. Joe Manchin (D-W.V.), in addition to Sens.-elect Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) and Heidi Heitkamp, join the new Congress on the banking committee.

Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.) has been chosen as a member of the Senate’s Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee.

Sens. Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio) and Michael Bennet (D-Colo.) are new members of the Senate’s committee on finance.

The budget committee will have Sen. Patty Murray (D-Wash.) as its new chairman. Sens.-elect Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Kaine and King will also serve on the budget committee.

Sens.-elect Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) and Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) will serve on the joint economic committee.

Comments are closed.